Spooky-Cool Feature from NY Times & LinkedIn

So there I was whangling through the NY Times online yesterday, when mine eyes were arrested by this-a-here box:

Now, I’m not an engineer, but I work for an engineering company (which is indicated in my LinkedIn profile). Thus, my NY Times profile talked to my LinkedIn profile, and now my Web page has a special box where I get customized news … sort of. I say “sort of” because this morning I can’t actually find that box anywhere on the site!

Anyhow, it’s a bit spooky … if the Times and LinkedIn can knit that information together, God only knows what the NSA can do. But it’s also cool, because one of the things I follow in the course of my job is what’s happening in the engineering industry. Now, it would be even cooler if I could access it when I wanted. But maybe that happens when the widget gets out of beta.

2 thoughts on “Spooky-Cool Feature from NY Times & LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

