The Leafs: Leave to Love ’em

I broke down and bought Toronto Maple Leafs license plate frames last week (see the photo). For the better part of three years I’ve been muttering about license plate frames, because some schmuck at the dealership or factory stuck industrial-strength tape on the holes where the rear plate goes on, and it won’t come off. My only solution is to try and cover part of it up.

Then, for reasons mysterious (but strongly suspected to be children), both plates bent outwards lately. I resisted buying Leafs plate frames at first because I didn’t want to become my dad. He’s a domer (a fan of Notre Dame U), and has pimped out his car to show his colors. Nonetheless, I caved. And my wife, having sensibly decided to bend and not break on this issue, caved as well. Coming soon to a license plate near you:

leafs_licence_plate.jpg

Today in the Toronto Star is a story titled “Leafs loved everywhere but Toronto,” pointing out that “The Toronto Maple Leafs are the most popular NHL team in Canada, but enjoy the lowest percentage of hometown supporters, according to a study released yesterday.”

It’s so typical of Canada: If you’re Canadian, and want to be popular there, they only way to do it is to leave the country. There are scads of musicians who are grudgingly accepted at home until they hit it big in the US, and then voila! They’re more popular back home.

And come to think of it, I didn’t pay the slightest bit of attention to the Leafs when I was in high school. Then, after I’d been back in the States for a few years, they became my favorite team. In fact, partly by accident I now have five Leafs hats.

Don’t tell my dad.

3 thoughts on “The Leafs: Leave to Love ’em

  1. Pingback: Demented Leafs Fan Paints a Plate « First Person Irregular

  2. Pingback: The Best Song Ever–According to One License Plate « First Person Irregular

Leave a Reply

