Bikes are the Future

Ironies abound. I just posted about cars and license plate frames, and here I am, about to admit that if I had my druthers, I wouldn’t own a car. Of course, I’d live in a city like Amsterdam or Bogota, which have designed themselves to be pedestrian- and bike-friendly.

What does that mean? Glad you asked. Here’s an excellent video about the virtues of bike-friendly city planning. Just watch … it’s not going to hit you over the head with polemics, and you’ll see a city that looks like a utopia, with children, adults, and even the elderly conducting their lives using bikes instead of cars. I swear, it’s hypnotic and beautiful to watch.

For a bit more, see “How to Reinvent Cities.”

And if you want to get hit over the head:

  •  Commuters waste 2.3 billion gallons of fuel simply from idling in traffic jams.
  • The annual delay per rush hour (peak period) traveler, has grown from 16 hours to 47 hours since 1982.
Leave a Reply

