Bumper Sticker du Jour

When I lived in Oklahoma, I was continually oppressed by the bumper stickers:

  • “WWJD”
  • “Real Men Love Jesus”
  • “1 cross + 3 nails = 4 given”

… holy cripes, talk about purgatory! (Er, sorry. Couldn’t resist.)

It’s not that I minded the holy rollers or their bumper stickers. What I minded was when they were smug and humorless. Consider how good the bumper stickers could have been:

  • God please grant me chastity, but not just yet. – St. Augustine”
  • Compassion is difficult to give away because it keeps coming back”
  • The High Holidays have nothing to do with marijuana”, etc.

I came close to making my own bumper sticker: “Real Men Love Cheeses” … but it was an only-in-Oklahoma sort of thing. And who knows, I might have had to endure righteous road rage from some pissed-off evangelical who wanted to get biblical on my rear bumper.

Then, this morning: “Non-judgment day is near.”

Aaahhh. Nice.

2 thoughts on “Bumper Sticker du Jour

  1. You must love living in Portland…land of the bumper stickers. Let’s see: Keep Portland Weird (no chance in that not happening…), A village in Texas is missing its idiot (a personal fave). I’ve never seen so many bumper stickers in my life. I think people could just stop talking to one another, and communicate entirely through their cars.

  2. Funny you should mention Keep Portland Weird, because there’s another village in Texas, namely Austin, that’s all about Keep Austin Weird. The (odd/weird/strange … no matter which synonym, I’m gonna be redundant here) unusual thing about that phrase is, it works great — once.

    Second time, not so much. Seems there’s a case of diminshing returns of weirdness when two places are into preservation of weirdness.

Leave a Reply

